Against All Things Ending

So having failed miserably with the A – Z Blogging Challenge, a quick scan through my inbox revealed that the Daily Post topic of the day is:

What is the last good book you read?

The last good book I read was Against All Things Ending, The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen Donaldson. This is the third book out of four, in The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant. It follows on from two earlier trilogies, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever and The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant.

It’s a fantasy series, along the lines of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, but much darker and in my opinion, much better.

The first book, Lord Foul’s Bane, was published in 1977, when I was 16. I’d just read Lord of the Rings and had tried other fantasy authors, but none seemed to draw me into their mythical realms, until I read Lord Foul’s Bane. From then on I was hooked, over the next six years, I bought all of the books as soon as the paperback edition came out.

I’ve returned to The Land, the alternate world visited by Thomas Covenant, on numerous occasions and was overjoyed when I found out, in 2004, that Stephen Donaldson was publishing The Last Chronicles.

If you’ve never been into fantasy before, give this series a try, it’ll be well worth the effort!

The entire series consists of:
The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever
Lord Fouls’s Bane
The Illearth War
The Power That Preserves

The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant
The Wounded Land
The One Tree
White Gold Wielder

The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant
The Runes of The Earth
Fatal Revenant
Against All Things Ending

The final book in the series will be The Last Dark and it’s due to be published in 2013.

5 Comments

Filed under Featured

5 responses to “Against All Things Ending

  1. InsideJourneys

    Hey Tony, don’t be too hard on yourself. You’ve given it your best.

    I’d never heard of Thomas Covenant before. I’ll add his books to my reading list.
    Thanks!

    Oh, btw, I’m nominating you for a Versatile Blogger Award. Details to come tomorrow.

  2. InsideJourneys

    You’re welcome, Tony!

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for a Virtual Blogger Award. http://insidejourneys.com/2011/05/02/woohoo-im-versatile-blogger-thanks-judith/

    Congratulations!
    Marcia

  3. I’m so glad I found you through the A to Z challenge. I look forward to visiting again.

Leave a Reply

